Amazonian Linguistics


Amazonicas III: Phonology and syntax

Date: 19 -24 April, 2010
Agenda: 19 – 20 April (the phonetics and phonology of laryngeal features);  21 April (estrategias de aumento de valencia); 22 April (the expression of spatial notions); 22 April (parallel session: valency increasing devices in Arawakan languages); 23 April (lexical categorization)
Scientific committee:
  • Leo Wetzels
  • Francesc Queixalos
  • Ana Carla Bruno
  • Frantomé Pacheco
  • Elsa Gomez-Imbert
  • Ana María Ospina Bozzi
  • Françoise Rose
  • Frank Seifart
  • Lev Michael
  • Camilo Robayo [carobayor AT]
  • Else Gomez-Imbert [gomezimb AT]
  • Leo Wetzels
  • Francesc Queixalos
  • Ana Carla Bruno
  • Frantomé Pacheco
Submission of abstracts: Anonymous abstracts (max 200 words) should be sent to the corresponding thematic coordinators before 15 December 2009. Please send a separate attachment, copied to with your name, institutional affiliation and contact details. You may submit more than one proposal. Notification for acceptance is 15 January 2010.
Practical information: The first three days will be devoted to themes 1 and 2; themes 3, 4 and 5 would be treated in special sessions during the following days.

Amazonicas II: phonology and grammar

Date: 24 – 28 November 2008

Place: Conference at the Universidade Federal de Pernambuco – Recife, Brazil

Description: This conference is the second of a series of three meetings resulting from the cooperation initiative between the CELIA Paris, UFAM Manaus, Leiden University, and the VU University Amsterdam research centers. The themes to be discussed at the second meeting are ‘nominalization’ and ‘word-prosodic systems’.

Although the nature of the meeting is that of a seminar for which part of the contributors are individually invited, there is a space in the program for uninvited speakers, which will be selected by submitting a paper. In addition, the meeting is open for students and scholars that are interested in attending without presenting a paper.

Permanent Organizing committee:

  • Willem Adelaar (Universiteit Leiden, The Netherlands)
  • Ana Carla Bruno (Instituto Nacional de Pesquisas da Amazônia, Manaus, Brazil)
  • Frantomé Pacheco (Universidade Federal do Amazonas, Manaus, Brazil)
  • Francesc Queixalos, CELIA, CNRS-IRD, Paris, France
  • Leo Wetzels, LPP, CNRS, Paris & VU University Amsterdam

Local Organizing Committee:

  • Stella Telles [stellatelles AT]
  • Aldir Santos [tapu AT]